post image
Gadgets

The Best Gimbal for Android and iPhone in November 2022

In the event that you enjoy shooting videos with your smartphone and are willing to spend a little over $150 to get more professional-looking results, then an iPhone gimbal might be something worth taking into consideration. In this article, our IBC24 experts describe what to look for in a gimbal and review the some top Best Gimbal for Android and iPhone.

Also Check: 9 Pro Tips: A Beginner’s Guide To Vlogging In Public

What is a Gimbal?

A Gimble is a handheld mechanical stabilizer that is designed to allow users to shoot smooth, cinematic footage without having to use a tripod or expensive dolly. During our testing, we found the DJI OM 5 to be the easiest to use while still working as a reliable device.

Also Check: Everything You Need To Know About Gimbal: User’s Guide 2022

DJI OM 5 : Best Gimbal for Android and iPhone

Sale
DJI OM 5-Handheld 3-Axis Smartphone Gimbal Stabilizer with Grip Tripod, Built-in Extension Rod, Shot Guide for Vlogging, YouTube, Live Video, Phone Stabilizer Compatible with iPhone and Android(Grey)
836 Reviews
DJI OM 5-Handheld 3-Axis Smartphone Gimbal Stabilizer with Grip Tripod, Built-in Extension Rod, Shot Guide for Vlogging, YouTube, Live Video, Phone Stabilizer Compatible with iPhone and Android(Grey)*
  • Portable and Palm-Sized Gimbal Stabilizer for Smartphones - DJI OM 5 is a lightweight and versatile tool that unlocks the full potential of your smartphone. Enjoy flawless selfies, super-smooth video, automatic tracking, and so much more with this DJI phone gimbal.
  • Built-In Extension Rod - Include more friends in a selfie, or even film your pets more comfortably from lower angles. This smart gimbal stabilizer is perfect for vlogging, live-streaming, and YouTube.
  • Shoot Like a Pro - ShotGuides automatically recognizes your environment and recommends a corresponding shot sequence, along with a tutorial for how to get it. Just follow the instructions and you’ll be shooting like a pro in no time. With the DJI OM 5 gimbal stabilizer, even first-time users can experience epic results.

Last update on 2022-11-28 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

It is perhaps fitting that in this age when professionals release polished smartphone videos for social media, we look forward to the DJI OM 5 for its approachable design, useful accessories, and portability. The few buttons on its comfortable handle (which telescopes into a selfie stick) are simple to learn, and its app makes sense. Our customer service team also reacted within seconds to any questions or concerns we had, so we think this app is a good choice for anyone who values technical support above the look of the app or the layout of the buttons. It’s worth considering how you feel about recent controversies surrounding DJI’s drone division, which has been at the center of several recent controversies.

Zhiyun Smooth 5: Best Gimbal for DSLR

Sale
Zhiyun Smooth 5 Professional Gimbal Stabilizer for Smartphone, Handheld 3-Axis Phone Gimbal, Portable Stabilizer for Vlogging, YouTube, Tiktok, Live Video Compatible with iPhone and Android
83 Reviews
Zhiyun Smooth 5 Professional Gimbal Stabilizer for Smartphone, Handheld 3-Axis Phone Gimbal, Portable Stabilizer for Vlogging, YouTube, Tiktok, Live Video Compatible with iPhone and Android*
  • PORTABLE AND FOLDABLE - Smaller and more lightweight, Zhiyun Smooth 5 is only 60% the size of Smooth 4. With Zhiyun customized carry bag, pack your Gimbal, tripod, smartphone lens and charging gear orderly
  • STEADY AS A ROCK - Differ from the anti-shake solution by cropping and suppressing image quality, and the solution that is limited by the camera module structure, the smartphone gimbal offers anti-shake performance with high definition, preserving the original video quality of the smartphone. Enables cinematic and creative movements for the video, providing users an experience to make smartphone films like the cinema films
  • SHINE IN EVERY ANGLE - Attach the magnetic fill light for 360° all around lighting on both sides of the new phone clamp, you can enjoy outstanding lighting backed by the 5300K-5700K color temperature. Also, you can change the colors using the light filters

Last update on 2022-11-29 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

Since the Smooth 5 has more buttons on its handle than the DJI OM 5, videographers have a better chance of changing settings faster and capturing trickier shots with more ease because they can access the buttons on the handle. Apps compatible with the handle allow you to integrate seamlessly with the phone’s control buttons, so you won’t need to touch your phone’s screen as frequently. It is important to note, however, that this model has more drawbacks than the OM 5, such as it is more difficult to handle.

DJI Pocket 2: Best Gimbal for Vlogging

Sale
DJI Pocket 2 - Handheld 3-Axis Gimbal Stabilizer with 4K Camera, 1/1.7 CMOS, 64MP Photo, Pocket-Sized, Active Track 3.0, Glamour Effects, YouTube Video Vlog, for Android and iPhone, Black-Rim
1,325 Reviews
DJI Pocket 2 - Handheld 3-Axis Gimbal Stabilizer with 4K Camera, 1/1.7 CMOS, 64MP Photo, Pocket-Sized, Active Track 3.0, Glamour Effects, YouTube Video Vlog, for Android and iPhone, Black-Rim*
  • POCKET-SIZED: DJI Pocket 2 weighs only 116 g and offers up to 140 minutes of battery life. It fits perfectly in the palm of your hand so that you can take it anywhere
  • DJI Pocket 2 turns on in a second so you can capture photos and videos in an instant
  • Colour: Black

Last update on 2022-11-29 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

The DJI Pocket 2 is a pocket-sized drone with a built-in camera that pleases us with its candy-bar shape and size, if you’re willing to spend more money to ditch that smartphone in favor of a gimbal. You need to only push two buttons in order to begin filming, so you can easily pull it out of your pocket. Within just a few seconds, you will begin capturing the most important moments of your life. We found that it was working as an effective camera stabilizer as the OM 5 and Smooth 5 were at doing this.

Our Top Trending Lists of Gimbal:

Last update on 2022-11-11 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

Trusting us: why you should

As a longtime photography enthusiast and journalist, I have spent more than a decade writing about emerging camera technology, such as drones, 360-degree cameras, and light field cameras. It has been hundreds of hours since I have flown a drone and I have seen first-hand the benefits that a phone gimbal can provide for stabilizing footage.

Who should get this:

As a matter of fact, smartphones capable of shooting 4K videos are now commonplace enough that even amateur videographers can take high-quality videos with them. By using a gimbal, a pivoting suspension device that mechanically stabilizes a camera, it is possible to achieve cinematic video effects easily and without investing in an expensive tripod or dolly. For the most part, gimbals smooth out hand tremors or a bumpy gait while you are filming while walking. Also, they can make pans appear smoother and more consistent, as well as automate time-lapses and other tricky shots. Also, they can be used as souped-up selfie sticks that will allow you to hold your phone farther away from your face, which will allow you to take better pictures.

With a gimbal, you have the option of stabilizing the camera of your phone even when you are walking or have shaky hands.

It consists of two parts: At the bottom of the gimbal, you will find a handle, which you will hold, much the same way you would hold a selfie stick. There are usually a variety of buttons, joysticks, and wheels found on the handle of the console. The gimbal sits on top of the handle and is shaped like an arm with a gripper that holds your phone or attaches to the built-in camera on the handle. As soon as you wiggle the handle, the phone or camera will stay in place.

By using a GoPro Gimbal, a pivoting suspension device that mechanically stabilizes a camera can replace expensive tripods and dollys, allowing the production of high-quality cinematic effects to be achieved by everyone.

When it comes to filming videos with your existing smartphone and achieving more professional-looking results, getting a DSLR gimbal can be a good option if you are not afraid of spending $150 or $200. A camera like this is a great tool to have for filming landscapes during vacations or for an active hobby such as snowboarding. It is also important to note that, besides being able to film yourself, gimbals are also useful for social media and live streaming.

Even though a gimbal for a smartphone will likely be less expensive, gimbals are available for nearly every type of camera, including DSLRs and GoPros. Consider investing in a gimbal instead if you use another type of camera more frequently than your phone.

There is some overlap between smartphone gimbals and action cameras, which use optical or electronic stabilization to smooth out shakes. Also available are 360-degree cameras, which you can use to film spherical videos you can edit into regular videos that are shake-free. 

Although the price of this type of setup is a bit higher, this might be a good option in the event that you do not have a good camera in your smartphone or if you want a device that you can pull out of your pocket. Also, it is a better choice if you do not want to risk damaging your $1,000 smartphone while you are filming.

Users of Android phones should pay special attention to whether their phones can be used with gimbals; we’ve seen phones that don’t fit in gimbal clamps, as well as gimbal apps that either don’t work with Android phones or limit the quality of the video they can shoot. DJI publishes an official list (PDF) of compatible phones, and Zhiyun publishes one as well (PDF). DJI doesn’t even offer its app within the Google Play store (it is unclear whether this is because of a lack of trust on their part or concern for their security and human rights); instead, you must download it directly from their website.

How to choose the best gimbal

Amazon and B&H reviews helped us find the most popular smartphone gimbals currently available. In addition, we watched YouTube reviews and footage shot with different gimbals to find promising options. Based on what we learned and considering our own habits, we determined the following features are most important:

Gimbals with three axes:

stabilize on the pitch (up and down), roll (left and right) and yaw (left and right) axes, providing better stability than two-axis gimbals. There are usually no yaw axes on two-axis gimbals because they have two axes instead of one. It was decided not to test stabilizers that did not have a true three-axis gimbal.

Automatic modes:

Some camera models come with preprogrammed automatic modes that will make it much easier to get some types of shots, including time lapses and dolly zooms. A number of gimbals are also able to track a moving target autonomously.

A great customer service experience:

Reaching a customer service agent and receiving a response should be easy; the faster, the better. Companies should provide photographers with custom support instead of pointing them in the direction of instruction manuals. There are many people who haven’t used a gimbal before, and so it can be a lifesaver if you provide good customer service when they’re going through the learning curve.

There should be warranty coverage:

For gimbals that develop problems outside of an owner’s control. Manufacturers should be willing to replace or repair gimbals that develop problems. Manufacturers should guarantee their products for one year.

Easy setup:

An instruction booklet (or a link to a YouTube video that shows how to set up and operate the gimbal) is essential since every gimbal works differently. It should only take one or two steps for the gimbal to be adjusted so that the phone can balance correctly. It should be possible to connect the gimbal, the phone, and the app together easily.

Companies usually list the phone sizes and weights that their gimbals are compatible with. The goal of our search was to find options that would work with both iPhones and Androids camera stabilizer DSLR, including our top iPhone and Android picks.

An ideal camera app:

It should be easy to use, have a clear design that is easy to navigate and provide a number of options for customizing the camera settings. This camera app will be able to be used on both iOS and Android devices at the same time.

Button design: that is easy to operate:

Whether you prefer to have more or fewer buttons on your gimbal’s handle, each should serve a specific purpose and be relatively easy to learn and use. In any case, if you dislike the buttons on a gimbal, you can usually accomplish the same tasks by touching the screen of your phone instead.

Battery life: Unless you are particularly concerned about the weight of the gimbal, longer battery life is something you want in order to charge it less often. There are gimbals that can also charge your phone, so a bigger battery means you’ll have a longer life for your phone.

Comfortable design:

A lightweight, ergonomic grip on the gimbal makes it much more comfortable to use during lengthy shoots.

Accessories:

Getting useful accessories, like a carrying case and a small tripod for your gimbal to go with it is nice, but it’s not essential.

This is how we conducted the testing

During our testing, we timed how long it took us to set up each gimbal, graded how much we liked the iOS and Android apps, documented our experience using the buttons on each handle, noted how easy (or difficult) it was to balance each gimbal, and noted any included accessories. Also, we asked customer service at each company to explain how to balance the gimbal, and we recorded how long it took a representative to reply and how helpful he was.

As part of an initial round of testing carried out in 2018, we compared five smartphone gimbals by filming videos with some of the most popular smartphones, to find out the best video stabilizer,  including an Apple iPhone 8 and a Samsung Galaxy S8. The front-facing camera was used to film walking down a street, and the back-facing camera was used with the gimbals’ object-tracking modes to film a moving drone.

We conducted another round of testing in early 2019, where we compared the DJI Osmo Pocket (a gimbal with a built-in camera) against the GoPro Hero7 Black with electronic image stabilization, at the Minneapolis Sculpture Garden. In late 2019, we had the opportunity to test the DJI Osmo Mobile 3. In late 2020, we tested the DJI Pocket 2, DJI OM 4, and Zhiyun Smooth X at Minnehaha Falls in Minneapolis using an Apple iPhone XR and Samsung Galaxy S8. Next, in 2022, we tested the DJI OM 5, Zhiyun Smooth 5, and Zhiyun Smooth Q3 at Minnehaha Falls in Minneapolis using an Apple iPhone XR and Samsung Galaxy S8.

DJI OM 5

Sale
DJI OM 5-Handheld 3-Axis Smartphone Gimbal Stabilizer with Grip Tripod, Built-in Extension Rod, Shot Guide for Vlogging, YouTube, Live Video, Phone Stabilizer Compatible with iPhone and Android(Grey)
836 Reviews
DJI OM 5-Handheld 3-Axis Smartphone Gimbal Stabilizer with Grip Tripod, Built-in Extension Rod, Shot Guide for Vlogging, YouTube, Live Video, Phone Stabilizer Compatible with iPhone and Android(Grey)*
  • Portable and Palm-Sized Gimbal Stabilizer for Smartphones - DJI OM 5 is a lightweight and versatile tool that unlocks the full potential of your smartphone. Enjoy flawless selfies, super-smooth video, automatic tracking, and so much more with this DJI phone gimbal.
  • Built-In Extension Rod - Include more friends in a selfie, or even film your pets more comfortably from lower angles. This smart gimbal stabilizer is perfect for vlogging, live-streaming, and YouTube.
  • Shoot Like a Pro - ShotGuides automatically recognizes your environment and recommends a corresponding shot sequence, along with a tutorial for how to get it. Just follow the instructions and you’ll be shooting like a pro in no time. With the DJI OM 5 gimbal stabilizer, even first-time users can experience epic results.

Last update on 2022-11-28 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

We recommend DJI’s OM5 as our top pick in Best Gimbal for Android and iPhone

DJI’s OM 5 is the first gimbal we’ve used that feels like it’s built for anyone who uses it. It’s easy to operate and it’s portable. Additionally, this gimbal comes with thoughtful accessories-such as an unusually integrated selfie stick-that can make it appealing to beginners as well as devoted hobbyists. Aside from a nice selection of auto-shooting modes, a straightforward app, and a comfortable handle with only a few buttons, the Olympus OM 5 is probably one of the easiest cameras to get used to. benefits from having the best customer service of any gimbal we tested. It has been reported that DJI has been in trouble with the US government over questions in regards to security, privacy, and ethics, and this should be considered.

We were able to shoot footage that looked smooth and shake-free with the OM 5’s three-axis design, similar to what we got when we shot footage with the Smooth 5. The gimbal also offers a variety of autonomous modes, such as ActiveTrack, which allows the camera to automatically track a moving object (or a still one, while you are moving around it with the camera). As a bonus, you can also use the gimbal to make a time-lapse or keep the camera steady while you zoom or film in slow motion. With the hyper-lapse and motion-lapse options, the camera can move along with the time-lapse, making for even more spectacular shots. As the gimbal’s weight (a bit less than a can of soda) was 326 grams (less than the weight of a banana), it was comfortable to hold. In addition, it had all the buttons within easy reach of the thumb.

At the top end of the gimbal, there is a circular magnetic pad that has been placed there. You can either attach the included clamp to your stabilizer phone (which is a standard design for gimbals) or you can adhere the included magnetic disc to the back of your phone. The disc creates a magnetic field around your phone, which allows it to be stuck to the gimbal quickly and easily. Although the feature might be useful if you are constantly switching between using your phone for other purposes and using it for taking pictures, we were not all that excited about saving a half-second by attaching the phone. The use of a clamp attached to the gimbal is also a quick and easy way to do this.

The ease of access to helpful customer service, a decent warranty, and simple instructions for setup and operation are especially valuable features for beginning gimbal users. We reached out to DJI via live chat on their website, and a customer service representative responded almost instantly. Also, they walked us through the steps to diagnose our stated issue instead of simply sending us to a tutorial (as other companies did with their gimbals). The OM 5 comes with the same one-year warranty as all of the other gimbals we have tested.

DJI offers a quick-start guide to the OM 5, as well as a more detailed instruction manual for the OM 5. In addition, you can also find a number of DJI and third-party tutorial videos on the internet. We found that this gimbal comes with the most comprehensive set of documentation of any gimbal we tested. Getting the OM 5 to work for the first time, including syncing up the phone with the gimbal over Bluetooth, took less than a minute. In this case, there is less of a chance that you’ll need to troubleshoot your camera since the gimbal does not need to be balanced.

The DJI website publishes a list of compatible phones (PDF) with the OM 5; this includes larger, modern phones such as the Galaxy S21 Ultra, iPhone 13 Pro Max, and Google Pixel 6 Pro. However, like the Smooth 5, this gimbal suffers from weakness when it comes to Android devices. Users of the Android DJI Mimo app will be able to record 4K video at a maximum of 30fps, while iOS users will be able to record up to 60fps.

In contrast to other gimbals we tested, the OM 5 has a trigger, two buttons, a joystick, and a slider, totaling fewer buttons than the assortment found on the Wer buttons means a simpler learning curve, which is nice if you are picking up a gimbal for the first time and prefer the easier-to-follow digital buttons on the DJI Mimo app. The gimbal includes only one button for turning it on; once it’s on, you can press the button one, two, or three times to select different camera modes. You can also use the other button to take a photo or start recording. A joystick is used to move the gimbal so that the camera can be pointed left, right, up, or down. With the slider you can zoom in or out without touching the phone. It is possible to accomplish any other tasks by manually moving the gimbal or by navigating within the DJI Mimo app.

The DJI OM 5’s battery lasts 6.4 hours, according to DJI. Although we were not able to run it continuously for such a long period of time, the battery never ran out while we were using it.

With its handle telescoped, the OM 5 can be turned into a selfie stick. Additionally, this model comes with a cloth bag, tripod, magnetic clamp, and magnetic ring holder. The OM 5 folds up to the size of a sandwich, and we think it’s sturdy enough to throw into a backpack or camera bag without the need for a specialized case. It is possible to add a clamp that doubles as a fill light for around $60; we think everyone can benefit from the even light provided by a fill light, but it is not a necessity. Check out our guide to phone lenses for more information.

Flaws, but not a deal-breaker

Due to security concerns, DJI has been criticized in recent years by the US government and security researchers. Also, it is worth noting that users of Android devices will need to download the DJI Mimo app directly from DJI’s website and not from the Google Play store. In our drone guide, we have some thoughts about the security of DJI’s products; users of stabilizers should take similar precautions.

As we got more comfortable with all of the gimbals, however, we discovered that we preferred having the large array of buttons on the Smooth 5 – touching the phone screen when it was at an odd angle was annoying, so we chose a gimbal’s physical buttons whenever possible.

The runner-up is Zhiyun Smooth 5

Sale
Zhiyun Smooth 5 Professional Gimbal Stabilizer for Smartphone, Handheld 3-Axis Phone Gimbal, Portable Stabilizer for Vlogging, YouTube, Tiktok, Live Video Compatible with iPhone and Android
83 Reviews
Zhiyun Smooth 5 Professional Gimbal Stabilizer for Smartphone, Handheld 3-Axis Phone Gimbal, Portable Stabilizer for Vlogging, YouTube, Tiktok, Live Video Compatible with iPhone and Android*
  • PORTABLE AND FOLDABLE - Smaller and more lightweight, Zhiyun Smooth 5 is only 60% the size of Smooth 4. With Zhiyun customized carry bag, pack your Gimbal, tripod, smartphone lens and charging gear orderly
  • STEADY AS A ROCK - Differ from the anti-shake solution by cropping and suppressing image quality, and the solution that is limited by the camera module structure, the smartphone gimbal offers anti-shake performance with high definition, preserving the original video quality of the smartphone. Enables cinematic and creative movements for the video, providing users an experience to make smartphone films like the cinema films
  • SHINE IN EVERY ANGLE - Attach the magnetic fill light for 360° all around lighting on both sides of the new phone clamp, you can enjoy outstanding lighting backed by the 5300K-5700K color temperature. Also, you can change the colors using the light filters

Last update on 2022-11-29 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

If you want to have as much control over your phone as possible, then the Zhiyun Smooth 5 is the right choice for you. It has more buttons and knobs on the handle so you can control your phone from any angle. By using these, you can take more-complicated shots without ever having to touch your phone. In addition, there is the possibility that some people would prefer to avoid the DJI brand by purchasing a Zhiyun gimbal.

Even though it’s easy to figure out how to operate the OM 5 right out of the box, it’s worth spending an hour or two watching the Zhiyun tutorials on controlling the Smooth 5 (which has a much bigger learning curve). In contrast to the OM5, the Smooth 5 needs to be balanced based on the size of your phone; this can result in additional setup time and issues when switching between phones. However, devoted users will be rewarded for learning the controls and putting them to use with even greater control over their videos.

Smooth 5 is compatible with modern phones such as the Galaxy S21 Ultra, Google Pixel 6 Pro, iPhone 13 Pro Max. Due to the additional payload, you won’t have to worry about pairing them with a case and additional lenses. ‘Zhiyun’s ZY Play app may not be compatible with your phone’s operating system, so we recommend that you download the Filmic Pro app instead. Those who purchase the Smooth 5 will find that they can shoot at 30 frames per second (fps) only with Android phones, while those with iOS phones are able to shoot at 60 frames per second.

While the Zhiyun Smooth 5 has fewer buttons on the handle than other models from Zhiyun, it still has more than the OM 5. At first, this array of buttons may seem overwhelming, but over time we have found ourselves using them more often. Having the option to avoid touching the phone screen when it’s oriented at an awkward angle is nice, and you’ll be able to hit a physical button while your thumb is already on the handle. A well-placed button integrates with the app seamlessly and the buttons are well-positioned. It is recommended that you watch the video tutorial a few times in order to understand the basics of how each button works. It is always possible to interact with the digital buttons on the phone screen instead if you are still overwhelmed by the amount of information.

Also check: The Best Noise Cancellation Headphones Of 2022

According to Zhiyun, the Smooth 5’s battery can last up to 25 hours on standby, 4.5 hours if a fill light is attached and running; DJI lists a 6.4-hour run time for its gimbal. The batteries of both gimbals are capable of lasting a long time, so we didn’t have to drain them during testing.

The Smooth 5 comes with a charger and tripod; for an additional $50, you can buy the Combo package that comes with a fill light, filters, and a carrying case. As part of Moment’s accessories bundle, you can also purchase a bundle of Smooth 5 accessories. While we haven’t tested this bundle in particular, we do recommend its lenses for smartphones. Also included in the Smooth 5 package is a carrying case and a tripod. There is only a few inches of height on the tripod, and while it works well if you place it on a table, it isn’t very useful if you don’t have a raised place where you can place the tripod (you may want to invest in a full-size tripod instead).

The Smooth 5 is covered by a one-year warranty. Just make sure you buy the gimbal directly from Zhiyun since the company’s warranty applies only to products it sells directly.

When it comes to customer service, Zhiyun didn’t come close to DJI. Through email and Zhiyun’s Facebook support page, we reached out to Zhiyun. It took about 10 hours in both cases for a representative to reply, considering the company is based in China, and responds only during local business hours. Instead of assisting us in troubleshooting our issue directly, the representatives referred us to a relevant tutorial instead. While the response was helpful, it wasn’t very personal.

In spite of the fact that we found the Smooth 5’s handle comfortable enough to hold, the device is significantly heavier than the OM 5 (615 grams versus 326 grams, before adding accessories). When you plan to shoot many hours of video in a week, it may be important to consider the weight of the camera before making a purchase.

Pick for upgrade: DJI Pocket 2

Sale
DJI Pocket 2 - Handheld 3-Axis Gimbal Stabilizer with 4K Camera, 1/1.7 CMOS, 64MP Photo, Pocket-Sized, Active Track 3.0, Glamour Effects, YouTube Video Vlog, for Android and iPhone, Black-Rim
1,325 Reviews
DJI Pocket 2 - Handheld 3-Axis Gimbal Stabilizer with 4K Camera, 1/1.7 CMOS, 64MP Photo, Pocket-Sized, Active Track 3.0, Glamour Effects, YouTube Video Vlog, for Android and iPhone, Black-Rim*
  • POCKET-SIZED: DJI Pocket 2 weighs only 116 g and offers up to 140 minutes of battery life. It fits perfectly in the palm of your hand so that you can take it anywhere
  • DJI Pocket 2 turns on in a second so you can capture photos and videos in an instant
  • Colour: Black

Last update on 2022-11-29 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

Most people with a smartphone camera would prefer a less expensive gimbal that clips to their phone rather than a more expensive one. This is a camera that you can pull out of your pocket and begin shooting immediately, or if you have a low-quality camera on your phone, consider upgrading to the DJI Pocket 2. At its smallest, it measures 4.9 by 1.5 by 1.2 inches (a little larger than a standard Snickers bar). It still packs in a 4K camera and has autonomous features as well. With the Pocket 2, you can also free up your phone to do any of the thousands of things it can do these days.

A pocket-friendly design and the ability to start filming in seconds bring back memories of the Flip Video era, with the added benefit of video stabilization and autonomous mode. Moreover, we think that its portability makes it an interesting competitor to action and 360-degree cameras (although we do not think that it will withstand the same knocks and falls as an action camera).

The videos we were able to record with the DJI Pocket 2 seemed to be shake-free and fluid. In order to achieve our goal, we employed features such as ActiveTrack (in which the camera follows a moving object autonomously) and MotionLapse (which condenses long shots into short, seamless videos). A built-in camera is capable of capturing videos in 4K, 60 frames per second.

As we found with the OM 5, DJI’s customer service is easy to get in touch with and responsive (as we found with the OM 1). In fact, we didn’t even need the instruction manual to get started with the Pocket 2. There are three buttons on the gimbal: one that is used to turn the device on and off, one that is used to start and stop filming, and a third function button (that lets you click through the menus). You can also access other features, such as video-quality adjustments, by swiping the Touchscreen of the Pocket 2. With the smartphone app, you can also control more specialized settings, such as white balance and noise reduction. You can also add accessories, such as a phone clip, an extended handle, and a tripod mount, that enhance the capabilities of the camera.

When recording video in 1080p, DJI’s Pocket 2’s battery lasts for two hours and twenty minutes. Even though this isn’t very long in comparison to the battery life of our Best Gimbal for Android and iPhone picks, it was more than enough to last through our testing. Because of the smaller battery, this model weighs a mere 117 grams without any accessories.

Taking part in the competition

We have previously recommended all of the predecessors of the OM 5 and Smooth 5. In the event that you come across one at a discounted price, we still think they are a good buy.

Zhiyun Smooth Q3: Best Gimbal for Mirrorless Camera

zhi yun Smooth-Q3 Gimbal Stabilizer for Smartphone Android Cell Phone iPhone Foldable 3-Axis Handheld Gimble Stick with Tripod Stand LED Fill Light for Tiktok, YouTube Vlog
164 Reviews
zhi yun Smooth-Q3 Gimbal Stabilizer for Smartphone Android Cell Phone iPhone Foldable 3-Axis Handheld Gimble Stick with Tripod Stand LED Fill Light for Tiktok, YouTube Vlog*
  • 【Rotatable Fill Light- Shine In Every Way】 With a touch button to light you up from all angles ( 180°) with three adjustable brightness levels
  • 【Gesture Control- Say "Yeah" to Capture】: Use just a single gesture to start the shooting while you can just be yourself anywhere anytime. Available in multiple panorama modes
  • 【SmartFollow 3.0- Following Smart & Easy】 Always stay in the spotlight. Activate the SmartFollow 3.0 with just one tap via the ZY Cami App

Last update on 2022-11-29 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

It looks like the Zhiyun Smooth Q3 is an inexpensive and easy-to-use alternative to the OM 5, but we were unable to connect it to our iPhone XR.

Zhiyun Smooth X: Best Gimbal for Mobile

ZHIYUN Smooth X Gimbal Stabilizer, Foldable Selfie Stick for Smartphone, Extendable Handheld iPhone Android Gimbal, YouTube Vlog Live Video, Face Tracking, Gesture & Zoom [Tripod& Case], White
833 Reviews
ZHIYUN Smooth X Gimbal Stabilizer, Foldable Selfie Stick for Smartphone, Extendable Handheld iPhone Android Gimbal, YouTube Vlog Live Video, Face Tracking, Gesture & Zoom [Tripod& Case], White*
  • 【COMPACT DESIGN】- An extendable body of 10.2 inches maximum length with a durable aluminum rod is great for a group selfie. Foldable design makes Smooth-X a portable and travel pocket size gimbal stabilizer.
  • 【2 IN 1 GIMBAL STABILIZER】- Activation on the "ZY Cami" app is required before using Smooth-X. With the innovative power of a phone stabilizer, Smooth-X is a 246g lightweight selfie stick that helps you take the beauty and steady selfie moment or Tik Tok videos smoothly.
  • 【INTELLIGENT GESTURE CONTROL】- Taking photos or recording videos effortlessly with Bluetooth wireless control. Widely compatible with smartphones, iPhone 11/11 Pro/Xs/Xr/SE and Samsung Galaxy Android phones under 235g. With the “ZY Cami” app, you can also capture a steady moment by showing a “V” gesture or waving to the camera.

Last update on 2022-11-29 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

While the Zhiyun Smooth X is an interesting compromise between a gimbal and a selfie stick the best buy to shoot, it is limited to two axis stabilization and has a short battery life of 512 hours.

Evo Pro: Best Gimbal for Beginners

With regard to looks and operation, the Evo Pro is identical to the Zhiyun Smooth 4. Its customer service is based in the U.S., and a representative answered our request within a few minutes. However, the item is no longer in stock. Furthermore, it did not come with a link to an instructional video, as Smooth 4 did, so for a beginner, its setup might be more confusing. The Zhiyun Smooth 4 setup video for the Evo Pro should be followed for best results. There is usually a difference in price between the Evo Pro and the Smooth 4, but if it is in stock and you are willing to spend a bit more for better customer service, you should consider buying the Evo Pro instead.

FreeVision Vilta-M: Best Gimbal for Camera

Sale
Freevision VILTA 3-Axis Handheld Stabilizer Gimbal for Phones & Actions Cameras, Black (VILTA-M)
1 Reviews
Freevision VILTA 3-Axis Handheld Stabilizer Gimbal for Phones & Actions Cameras, Black (VILTA-M)*
  • Versatile App Functions include Auto/Manual Motion time Lapse, Track Me, Blockbuster Panoramas, Long Exposure, Editing for Photos & Video, Beautify, Filters
  • Easy control on zoom in/out, focus , exposure, & roll angle
  • Ergonomic & mechanical handle design

Last update on 2022-11-29 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

We found the FreeVision Vilta-M to have the simplest handle of any gimbal we tested and the longest battery life, 17 hours. We were able to set this up in less than a minute. Other features that we liked were the easy-to-use app and the cloth carrying case. However, it tends to be more expensive, and our customer support request through an online form didn’t seem to make it through.

Moza Mini-Mi: Best Gimbal for Tiktok

moza 3-Axis Smartphone Gimbal Stabilizer, Wireless Charging, Max Load 10.6 oz, Multiple Subjects Detection, Inception Mode, Timelapse for iPhone X 8
54 Reviews

Last update on 2022-11-29 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

Moza Mini-Mi is the least expensive cell phone gimbal we have tested, and it also has some interesting features, such as wireless charging. In our tests, we were not able to figure out how to connect the gimbal to the phone over Bluetooth, so we were unable to test it properly, and as a result, we were not able to put this gimbal through its full paces.

FAQ

Why is balancing a gimbal so hard?

Depending on the camera, this is the most challenging test, since you have to hold the weight of the entire unit. The first two axes are usually balanced perfectly, and the pan axis is left on ‘good enough’. Gimbals differ slightly from manufacturer to manufacturer and generation to generation.

What is the easiest gimbal to balance?

The Moza Lite 2P is an excellent handheld gimbal for creating professional-looking videos that is lightweight, easy to balance, and not too heavy.

Are gimbals useful?

In order to shoot smooth, cinematic footage, you need a handheld mechanical stabilizer called a gimbal, as opposed to a tripod or dolly. Video stabilization was most reliable with the DJI OM 5.

Can you use a camcorder on a gimbal?

The DSLR gimbal can also be extended or contracted to get the perfect balance. It is a versatile gimbal for video production because it can hold DSLRs and camcorders.

What is gimbal stabilization?

The 3-axis gimbals in handheld stabilization systems offer an independent shooting experience without camera vibrations or shakes. A mechanical stabilization system is available as well as a motorized stabilization system.

How do you attach a microphone to an iPhone?

A TRS microphone can be plugged into the iPhone’s lightning connector using a TRS to TRRS adapter, and then the adapter can be plugged into a Lightning to 3.5mm Headphone Jack Adapter. Afterwards, the lightning connector on the iPhone can be plugged in.

Are gimbals Electric?

Any gimbal is connected by two frames. The frame holds the cameras and the handle. Between the frames are three electric motor-driven hinges. The cameras are not able to rotate on any of the three axes because of the electric motors.

Can you mount a camera cage on gimbal?

It can be attached to the gimbal using something like the SmallRig cage (mentioned above) or any form of bracket mount. If you want your footage to be free of the dreaded “death roll,” make sure your gimbal is calibrated after the attachment is complete.